2023 NC State 4-H Horsebowl Champions Crowned

— Written By
en Español / em Português

El inglés es el idioma de control de esta página. En la medida en que haya algún conflicto entre la traducción al inglés y la traducción, el inglés prevalece.

Al hacer clic en el enlace de traducción se activa un servicio de traducción gratuito para convertir la página al español. Al igual que con cualquier traducción por Internet, la conversión no es sensible al contexto y puede que no traduzca el texto en su significado original. NC State Extension no garantiza la exactitud del texto traducido. Por favor, tenga en cuenta que algunas aplicaciones y/o servicios pueden no funcionar como se espera cuando se traducen.


Inglês é o idioma de controle desta página. Na medida que haja algum conflito entre o texto original em Inglês e a tradução, o Inglês prevalece.

Ao clicar no link de tradução, um serviço gratuito de tradução será ativado para converter a página para o Português. Como em qualquer tradução pela internet, a conversão não é sensivel ao contexto e pode não ocorrer a tradução para o significado orginal. O serviço de Extensão da Carolina do Norte (NC State Extension) não garante a exatidão do texto traduzido. Por favor, observe que algumas funções ou serviços podem não funcionar como esperado após a tradução.


English is the controlling language of this page. To the extent there is any conflict between the English text and the translation, English controls.

Clicking on the translation link activates a free translation service to convert the page to Spanish. As with any Internet translation, the conversion is not context-sensitive and may not translate the text to its original meaning. NC State Extension does not guarantee the accuracy of the translated text. Please note that some applications and/or services may not function as expected when translated.

Collapse ▲

The 2023 NC State 4-H Horsebowl Contest was held on March 11, 2023, in conjunction with the State Hippology Contests. One hundred and thirty-three youths competed on a total of 30 teams in the Junior, Senior, and Mixed divisions. In addition, 16 Cloverbud youth, ages 5-7, completed four rounds of play. 

Sponsors for this year’s contest were the North Central and Southeast District 4-H Horse Councils, and the Wake County 4-H Horse Program.

In the junior division, the Onslow county team consisting of Ryan Ljunggren, Lily Reyer, Kendall Kilian, and Brinley Raynor captured the champion team title. The team was coached by volunteer leader Connie Johnson and Onslow county 4-H Agent Tara Taylor. Ryan was also named the high-scoring junior individual.

Alamance county went through bracket play undefeated to take the Mixed division team title. Team members were MaKennah Allred, Aubrey Gilliam, Madison Sharpsteen, Allee Coble, and Shelby Bittner. Lindsay Riddell, volunteer leader, was the coach of the Alamance team. High-scoring individual honors in the Mixed division went to Jones county 4-H’er Melody Mauney. Melody was coached by Jones county 4-H agent Samantha Bennett. 

Senior team honors went to the undefeated team from Chatham county. Team members Kyra Worth, Austen Stinson-Miller, Victoria Smith, Caleigh Gantt, and Lily Webster combined to score 136 points throughout the day. Chatham county volunteer leader Ruth Vorder Bruegge coached the team. Kyra Worth repeated as the high-scoring individual in the Senior Division. 

Junior Team Results

1  Onslow

2  Burke

3  Chatham

4  Wake

5  Rutherford

6  Johnston

2023 NC State 4-H Junior Horsebowl Champion Team- Onslow County

Junior Individual Results

Rank Contestant County/Team Score
1 Ryan Ljunggren Onslow 27
2 CeCe Springett Wake 26
3 Hannah Oberman Chatham 20
4 Abby Lail Burke 17
5 Mallory Stephenson Johnston 11
6 Lily Reyer Onslow 10
7 Grace Mathews Chatham 10
8 Avery Hudson Rutherford 9
9 Marissa Rathbun Wake 7
10 Micaela Maynor Wake 7

2023 NC State 4-H Junior Horsebowl High Individual- Ryan Ljunggren, Onslow County

Mixed Team Results

 1  Alamance 

 2  Rutherford 

 3  Avery

 4  Cumberland-Sharum

 5  Jones

 6  Perquimans 

2023 NC State 4-H Horsebowl Mixed Division Champion Team- Alamance County

Mixed Individual Results

Rank Contestant County/Team Score
1 Melody Mauney Jones 26
2 Makennah Allred Alamance 24
3 Dai Akers Cumberland-Sharum 23
4 Emma Horton Rutherford 22
5 Chloe Oaks Avery 20
6 Charli Williams Perquimans 13
7 Greg Tice Rutherford 12
8 Avery Arnold Avery 11
9 Siri Hopkins Cumberland-D. Carlisle 9
10 Allee Coble Alamance 9

Senior Team Results

1  Chatham

2  Burke

 3  Perquimans

 4  Union-Taylor

 5  Halifax

 6  Union-Nash

2023 NC State 4-H Horsebowl Contest Senior Division Champion Team- Chatham County

Senior Individual Results

Rank Contestant County/Team Score
1 Kyra Worth Chatham 37
2 Elena Hamilton Union-Taylor 31
3 Graham Zeiders Halifax 23
4 Alissa Harris Perquimans 22
5 Caleigh Gantt Chatham 20
6 Austen Stinson-Miller Chatham 16
7 Lindsey Cook Burke 13
8 Jenna Garrison Burke 12
9 Rebecca Reid Union-Nash 10
10 Addison Potter Perquimans 10

2023 NC State 4-H Horsebowl Contest Senior High Scoring Individual- Kyra Worth

Cloverbud Participants

2023 Cloverbud Horsebowl Participants

Name County
McKenzie Andrews Cabarrus
Oakley Lewis Edgecombe
Tristan Irby Halifax
Charleigh Murnan Harnett
Scarlett Murnan Harnett
Southerlynn Carter Jones
Raylan Maness Rockingham
Lainey Plott Rowan
Rosalie Wells Rowan
Kayden Cobb Rutherford
Blaire Dunk Rutherford
Flynn Green Rutherford
Clara Green Rutherford
Samuel Cosyner Stanly
Ava Nelson Stanly
Jade Fitzwater Wilkes